Skip to content

Learning Notes on Sarah

January 11, 2009

Her ruling passion continues to be MOVIES! She has been watching movies like mad and writing reviews on her blog.  I am biting my tongue because she still has uncorrected mechanical errors in her reviews. (Sarah calls me the Grammar Nazi). I am showing restraint, people … RESTRAINT!

Sarah also reads professional movie reviews, using these books which she got for Christmas:

I am impressed that she’s reading the work of professionals and looking for ways to keep improving her reviews! 🙂

I’ve always had clear ideas about what activities are nourishing for the mind and which are mental junk food. With a few exceptions, T.V. and video games are like chips and candy. However with James being inspired to discuss history because of a violent video game and Sarah parlaying movie viewing into a serious avocation … well, I might be rethinking my attitude. Don’t tell the kids, though. 😀

We finished reading The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. She’s reading The Diary of Anne Frank for her honors English class. Her teacher wants students to finish the book (along with several others) and think about conflict in Anne Frank in preparation for class discussions.

Once again, I’m trying to keep a grip on myself. I’m not going to spend a lot of time discussing conflict with Sarah, because that’s for her to do in class. (*Deep breath*)  I did talk to her a bit about conflict (which we’ve discussed before) as she was starting the book. I didn’t say anything directly about Anne Frank. Instead I talked to her about conflicts in a book I read recently: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. There were interpersonal conflicts among the characters, and the protagonist, Amir, experienced intense intrapersonal conflict. All this was within the broader context of national and international conflicts — Afghanistan was consumed by wars. I hope that modeling a way of thinking about this subject will help her a bit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

