Skip to content

The Inaugural Saturday Spotlight

May 2, 2010

Saturday Spotlight is a new meme sponsored by Lori’s Reading Corner

Each week I will pick a new theme for us to share our favorite of, and every once in a while I’ll make it a “readers choice” week where you can spotlight whatever you want.

Some of the different things we’ll be spotlighting are our favorite book, author, female/male character, location, murder weapon, series, other book blogs, giveaway sites, places to get our books and just about anything else book related.

For our first week I thought we should spotlight OURSELVES!!!  I think it will be great way to introduce ourselves to each other and find out a little bit about each other, what we like to read, and how we got started blogging.

I am a 40-something home educating mom and a part-time writing teacher and publicist. I am a Native of Eastern North Carolina living in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia with my hubby of almost 2o years, 3 kids, two goofy mutts, two rats, a blue-tongued skink, and some fish.

I have been a fool for books for longer than I can remember. When I was a toddler, my crib was tucked into Dad’s tiny study. I spent hours pulling books off the shelves, and as soon as I was able, I begged to be taught to read.

My reading preferences run the gamut. I enjoy contemporary fiction, classics, historical fiction, and books for young adults and kids. Until a year ago, I was heavily into mysteries and thrillers, including novels by Michael Connelly, Tony Hillerman, Marcia Muller, Ed McBain, and many others. I also read non-fiction, memoirs, and occasional science fiction or fantasy.

I started blogging in 2004 as a way of journaling our homeschooling efforts, and I’ve been blogging on and off since then. I started a book blog almost a year ago and have found it to be extremely addictive.

10 Random Things About Me:

1. I was a deplorable high school student — I would occasionally ditch class to hang out with my best friend, drink cheap wine, and go to the mall. I would often skip school to go to the library and read. Who skips school so they can read? A sad commentary on my geekiness or on the priorities of the school system — I’m not sure which. Anyway, I read some good novels during those truant hours, including Slaughterhouse Five and The Color Purple.

2. My idea of home decorating is wall-to-ceiling bookshelves. My husband, the carpenter-in-residence, finally put his foot down and refused to build any more shelves. He has the peculiar notion that if we run out of shelves — after he’s built at least 3 bookcases (including one that occupies an entire wall of the living room) — I should get rid of some books. Men get the oddest ideas, don’t they?

3. I’ve had 6 pregnancies and 3 living children.

4. I am madly, insanely in love with my kids.

5. Even though we are in our 40′s, and have been “done” for quite a while, I still haven’t made peace with the fact that I won’t have more babies. Crazy, but true.

6. I believe in God, but I quit going to church years ago. I feel much more connected with a higher power in the woods that in a building.

7. I’m into quirky independent films, a genre my daughter introduced me to. I find that I do better with quirky than downright weird, though my horizons are expanding. I even sat through Pulp Fiction.

8. I love many of the classics, but I didn’t start reading them until relatively late in life. Some terrific authors, like Edith Wharton and Charles Dickens, were nearly ruined for me forever because high school teachers forced me to read them when it was just the wrong time in my life to really appreciate them. I read War and Peace, one of my all-time favorite books, when I was nursing my son around the clock (baby in one hand, book in the other). I read all of Jane Austen’s wonderful novels during the last few months of pregnancy with my youngest. I was bloated like an engorged tick with encephalitis, and didn’t feel up to doing anything besides reading.

9. My mother was perhaps the smartest woman I’ve ever known. She loved to debate with people — politics, religion — nothing was off-limits. My cousin once said, admiringly, that she could argue with a napkin and make it interesting. I suspect I lack her wit and her knack for thinking on her feet in a debate. Besides, I’m always overly afraid of hurting somebody’s feelings.

10. I sometimes miss being a teenager, even with the raging hormones, the loneliness, and my intense dislike of high school. The thing I loved was that sense of limitless possibilities being ahead and no doors having yet been closed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 4:24 am

    Can you believe I still have the raging hormones of a teen? Crazy, I know!

    Btw, where do you stay in VA?

    • May 2, 2010 4:36 am

      I don’t think those raging adolescent hormones ever entirely go away. *LOL* I live in Staunton.

  2. Missy permalink
    May 2, 2010 11:30 am

    I loved learning more about you! Our high school days sound very much alike…..I couldn’t wait to get out of school, but had no idea where to go from there. I also have not read many of the classics, due in part to my high school english teacher(s). I will get around to them someday….right now I am more interested in other genres.

  3. May 2, 2010 11:40 am

    I liked leaning more about you through your post. I disliked high school as well, although I was a good student. I drank cheap wine with friends and left school early with my friend who had a car. I also had the hardest time in my early 40’s accepting the fact I would not have any more children (have 2), and #6 rings true with me as well.

    Thanks for sharing with us.

  4. May 2, 2010 1:19 pm

    I loved learning all these things! I think it’s awesome that you used to skip school to read. Not the skipping school thing – which I admit I never had the bravery to do – but the reading part. Interesting commentary, probably on the school system more than anything.

  5. May 3, 2010 2:09 pm

    I love hearing more about other bloggers. It’s so nice to put additional info with a person’s book tastes, you know?

Leave a Reply

