Skip to content

Playing with Google, Or Random Crap I Do to Waste Time

July 17, 2010

While avoiding housework exploring the literary blogging community this evening, I stumbled upon this post at Fluttering Heart. If you type “why are,” “I’m having trouble” or a similar phrase into Google, you can see the ten most popular search phrases beginning with those words. Check out her post. It made me laugh out loud — though I’m a little worried about all these folks who are googling “why are there school?” (Obviously schooling is a much needed commodity, eh?) And Holy. Crap. There are apparently a slew of people googling “I’m having trouble dealing with the fact that Edward Cullen is a fictional character.” Um. O.K.

Following Aimee’s method, I checked out several populations I happen to be part of.

“Why are Americans”

  • Why are Americans so fat? (Because we’re sitting on our ever-widening posteriors googling stuff)
  • Why are Americans so stupid (Now that’s just mean)
  • Why are Americans afraid of dragons? (Um. What?)
  • Why are Americans called Yankees?
  • Why are Americans so religious?

“Why are Southerners?”

  • Why are Southerners so stupid? (We’re on that again?)
  • Why are Southerners so fat?
  • Why are Southerners so nice? (Aw shucks, y’all.)
  • Why are Southerners called rebels (C’mon, study a littleΒ  history, people. That’s why there are school!)
  • Why are Southerners Republican?
  • Why are Southerners so racist?
  • Why are Southerners so conservative?
  • Why are Southerners so obsessed with the Civil War?

You don’t even want to know what I came up with for “why are women.” Apparently we’re stupid, crazy, emotional, cold, and evil. Not to mention bad drivers. Some poor souls wanted to know “why are women so complicated?” However, the most popular question of all was “why are women like parking spaces?” Huh??? Of course, the results on men weren’t any better.

And for “why are homeschoolers” and I only got ONE response: “why are homeschoolers so weird?” Um. SERIOUSLY, people? I mean, most of the homeschoolers I run with are weird, but trust me, the people I hang out with don’t exactly comprise a random sample. πŸ˜‰ When is the “weird unsocialized homeschoolers” myth going to finally die a natural death?”

Oh well, if Americans are all fat and stupid, women are overemotional and bad drivers, and Southerners are all fat, dumb, and racist … well, I guess it stands to reason that this stereotype is also accurate. Sheesh.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 12:20 am

    Okay, the one about Edward had me cracking up. What in the world!? Hahaha!

    • July 17, 2010 12:24 am

      I know! And the scary thing is that I’m a middle aged woman — and half these Edward Cullen googlers are probably my age. πŸ˜›

  2. July 17, 2010 1:30 am

    Well, this American feels pretty stupid because I had intended to put you on the list in my last post and I completely forgot. I blame the heat. Maybe I should google “Why are there summer?” πŸ˜€

    Anyway, I have rectified the situation and intensely apologize for forgetting to pass these awards on to you!

    Peace and Laughter!

  3. July 17, 2010 3:07 am

    I love this and I have already created a post for it for Tuesday. πŸ˜‰ Awesome fun.

  4. July 17, 2010 12:12 pm

    This sounds like so much fun…and now they goes the housecleaning on the back burner…thanks a lot!

  5. July 17, 2010 12:13 pm

    Yes, this is very addictive and yields very interesting results.

  6. July 18, 2010 2:06 am

    Hmmm, well, we are a bit weird here. I’ll have to play with google for a while.

Leave a Reply

