Skip to content

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? My Week. Zombies, Sookie Stackhouse, and Virginia Woolf.

August 16, 2010

Another busy week has come and gone. As part of my ongoing adventures as kid-chauffeur-in-residence, Wednesday I found myself stranded in Harrisonburg in 98 degree weather, with three very frustrated kids,ย  when the alternator died. It’s an occupational hazard. Seven hours and over $650 later, we made it home. Holy crap. Is this the same vehicle that cost $350 for transmission work last month? Damn Murphy and his infernal laws. ๐Ÿ˜›

On the up side, we were stranded beside a shopping center full of air conditioned stores. ๐Ÿ™‚ We spent some time in Barnes and Noble, where I bought a few books for the kids (of course I did). DD1’s book is about dogs, and DS’s book features zombies. Human zombies, zombie dogs, zombie cats, zombie geese. Even zombie ants. I’m not kidding. I can’t remember the title of the book, but it seemed to be a hit with my son, who loves all things Bad Ass and undead. I bought Ramona the Brave by Beverly Cleary for DD2 — I love that book.

We also hung out at Petco, where DS hatched plans to save his money to invest in an aquarium. One of the two high points of my day was seeing DS and DD2 watch ferrets wrestling, laughing with delight. The other high was watching them play in the rain. We were inside the pet shop onย this sweltering day when a heavy rainstorm blew in. They ran outside and pranced around in the torrential rain, laughing outrageously.

Saturday my daughters and I visited an eight-year-old friend in the pediatric intensive care unit. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen this kiddo when she wasn’t in constant motion, strong, energetic, and full of mischief. She cried in pain when her mom and the nurse lifted her out of bed for a few minutes. And she has autism, so she can’t verbalize exactly what she’s feeling and experiencing. It was heart-wrenching, but good to be there. It’s the first time I’ve seen her since she got sick, and what one imagines is always worse than the reality. The little girl is making some progress, and she has her strong, nurturing parents, grandma, and sisters at her side.

This weekly meme is hosted by the fabulous Sheila at Book Journey.

Books Reviewed This Week:

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (one of my new favorite authors!)

Dogsbody by Diana Wynne Jones (part of my effort to read more sci-fi and fantasy.

A Home At the End of the World by Michael Cunningham

Reading Now:

ย ย ย ย 

I started re-reading Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, which is gorgeous, of course. It is taking me a while, because I keep going back to re-read various passages. One of my favorites:

She would not say of any one in the world now that they were this or were that. She felt very young; at the same time unspeakably aged. She sliced like a knife through everything; at the same time was outside, looking on. She had a perpetual sense, as she watched the taxi cabs, of being out, out, far out to sea and alone; she always had the feeling that it was very, very dangerous to live even one day. Not that she thought herself clever, or much out of the ordinary. How she had got through life on the few twigs of knowledge Frรคulein Daniels gave them she could not think. She knew nothing; no language, no history; she scarcely read a book now, except memoirs in bed; and yet to her it was absolutely absorbing; all this; the cabs passing; and she would not say of Peter, she would not say of herself, I am this, I am that.

But as evening rolled around, I decided I wasn’t in the mood for anything thought-provoking or literary. Bring on the vampire twaddle! I need some Sookie Stackhouse. So now I’m about a third of the way through Living Dead in Dallasย by Charlaine Harris.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Adesa permalink
    August 15, 2010 1:44 am

    So sorry about your car, Steph! If I had the car that day, I could have at least taken you somewhere. And the cost totally sucks!

    I’m glad you got to visit Lolo. I’d like to go sometime this week. Are she and Paige up for more visitors, do you think?

  2. August 16, 2010 10:29 am

    Geez what a week, glad there was an upside to the car dramas! Hope your little friend continues to improve. ICU is a heartwrenching place, even more so when children are involved.
    Purple Hibiscus is another one on my wishlist, Hope you have a good week, happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

    • August 16, 2010 2:40 pm

      Thank you, Sheree. I appreciate your kind thoughts. And I can’t wait to hear what you think of Purple Hibiscus.

  3. August 16, 2010 10:30 am

    PS I think your Monday link on Sheila’s blog is ‘broke’

  4. August 16, 2010 10:54 am

    I read the first Sookie book but didn’t follow up with anymore. Now that I’m watching True Blood on DVD I’m afraid to read more in case I find out what is going to happen. LOL.

    • August 16, 2010 2:41 pm

      I was watching True Blood on DVD, too. They changed it quite a bit from the books, which makes it fun.

  5. August 16, 2010 11:02 am

    Sounds like you made the best of a crappy situation, and ended up having a good time with the kids. You experience is a great example of a glass half full POV.

    I certainly hope this week is much better and that you enjoy you books.

  6. August 16, 2010 2:12 pm

    What a busy (and expensive) week! I am always in the mood for some vampire twaddle. I just watched the first two seasons of True Blood on DVD and brought out the first 5 Sookie books to re-read. I’m afraid the start of school may derail those plans though. I have a bunch of stuff to do to get ready for the classes I teach. My Monday Report is here. Happy reading!

    • August 16, 2010 2:45 pm

      I just watched the first two seasons of True Blood, too. Very addictive!

      I have a lot to do with the start of the school year, too, since I’ll be implementing some new homeschool plans after Labor Day and I’ll get a new roster of online writing students around the same time. The problem with work/teaching is that it cuts into one’s reading and DVD viewing time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. orchidus permalink
    August 16, 2010 7:29 pm

    I’m glad everything turned out alright in the end, despite the expenses.

    It sounds like you’re enjoying Virginia Woolf quite a bit! I remember reading To the Lighthouse when I was 17 but not enjoying it because I had trouble getting used to her prose style. Or, maybe I was not mature enough at the time to appreciate her psychological and sharp analysis of her characters. One of these days, I’ll reread this and try some of her other books.

    I keep hearing so much about Charlaine Harris’ series around the blogging community. I probably should try the first book. :]

    Thanks for the visit!

    • August 17, 2010 1:32 pm

      So many classics have been ruined for people by being made assigned reading when it’s the WRONG time in a person’s life to read them. I think it’s sad. I didn’t get into many of the classics until I was in my 30s. *LOL*

  8. August 16, 2010 8:25 pm

    Prayers for your little friend.

    Sounds like you had a great day with your kids albeit a little pricey car wise, but those days are great and you have to get them while you can because they grow up way too fast!

    Happy Reading!

    Dollycas
    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

  9. August 16, 2010 11:00 pm

    Wow what a week you had! Sounds like you made the best of it though, really what can you do besides buy books? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I must must must read your review of Purple Hibiscus – especially since you said the author is now a fav! Those are big words! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a much better week!

  10. August 16, 2010 11:46 pm

    You had a very busy week! I will eventually get to the Sookie series. I want to read them, just not as long as I watch the show lol.

    • August 17, 2010 1:34 pm

      One thing I like about True Blood is that they changed the plot quite a bit. Even if you’ve read the books, you might not know what’s coming. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. August 17, 2010 5:21 pm

    I’m been meaning to read Mrs. Dalloway for so long now. I’ve now officially added to my to-read list ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy reading!

  12. August 17, 2010 6:24 pm

    Glad you made it home safe but sorry about the $ spent. Last week I tweeted that our water bill was $484.00… yep… for one month! holy crap! Life is expensive

    I have Mrs Dalloway on my ipod and I just pulled out Madame Bauvery from the bookshelf last night. I’m also in the mood for classic right now.

    Enjoy!

    • August 17, 2010 7:30 pm

      We had a water bill like that recently. Holy crap … life *is* expensive!

      I haven’t read Mme. Bovary since college — that’s one I should probably re-read. I only remember the general premise. All the details have evaporated from my mind.

  13. August 18, 2010 10:44 pm

    A Home At the End of the World sounds interesting, I added it to my TBR pile! Hope you have a great week ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. August 19, 2010 2:10 pm

    That’s an awesome combination you’ve got there! I’ve never read any Sookie Stackhouse novels but I’ve been told that they very, very addictive.

Leave a Reply

