Skip to content

Ah … It’s Monday Again!

August 30, 2010

A new school year has snuck up and bitten me in the arse. Where did the summer go? In a few days, I’ll be getting my new roster of students. Meanwhile I’m gradually setting up some new blogs to use for recording my own kids’ homeschool endeavors. Since we don’t follow a curriculum, I feel I need a way to document everything. And blogging suddenly seemed to make more sense than using the notebook-type portfolios I’d planned.

Mostly I run kids around to soccer, tutoring, therapies, music lessons, sleepovers, and whatever else is on the docket on any given day. All this kid-chauffeuring is completely eating my life and is leaving an astronomical carbon footprint. 😛

And lately I’ve been feeling more and more disconnected from my son, who is almost 12. Though he hasn’t hit puberty yet, and I suspect he won’t for a while, he’s been getting moodier and my insisting he spend time with the family (or do anything he doesn’t feel like doing) provokes his ire. And unlike his sisters, he’s never been really inclined to demand attention or seek out my company. I hate to generalize, but it really is different with girls! Plus his dad is kind of the “cool” parent — the one who likes video games, guns, and jokes involving bodily functions. Why hang out with mom? Seriously, if you were a pre-teen boy, would you? 🙂

Tonight, I asked him to turn off his video game and come spend time with me. I asked if he’d like to have a snack and draw while I read aloud to him. Art and read alouds are a few interests we do share. He seemed happy to do that. He’s even cleaning up the T.V. room so it’ll be a more enjoyable place for us to hang out. 😉

This weekly meme is hosted by the fabulous Sheila at Book Journey.

Recent Book Reviews:

Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

A Thread of Sky by Deanna Fei

Arab in America by Toufic El-Rassi

Short Stories I’ve Read:

“Through the Tunnel” and “No Witchcraft for Sale” by Doris Lessing and “The Ransom of Red Chief” by O.Henry. I didn’t review them, but I discussed them here, here, and here.

Movies:

I watched and liked Persepolis and The Soloist.

More Bloggy Stuff:

New homeschooling blog

Reading Now:


Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

from Amazon.com: “There’s only one vampire Sookie Stackhouse is involved with – at least voluntarily – and that’s Bill. But recently he’s been a little distant – in another state distant. His sinister and sexy boss Eric has an idea where to find him, and next thing Sookie knows she’s off to Jackson, Mississippi, to mingle with the underworld at Club Dead. It’s a dangerous little haunt where the elusive vampire society can go to chill out and suck down some Type O – but when Sookie finally finds Bill caught in an act of serious betrayal she’s not sure whether to save him, or to sharpen some stakes. The Sookie Stackhouse books are delightful Southern Gothic supernatural mysteries, starring Sookie, the telepathic cocktail waitress, and a cast of increasingly colourful characters, including vampires, werewolves and things that really do go bump in the night.”

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 1:38 am

    So glad to hear you and James are connecting 🙂

  2. August 30, 2010 2:25 am

    My son is ten and luckily he still loves to cuddle with me and do things with me, but I am not looking forward to when he is older and starts changing. I teach high school so I see so much and it scares me sometimes.

    Good luck with the whole adolescent thing! I’m sure it will be fine!

  3. August 30, 2010 2:35 am

    Ah yes, a tricky age. I have three teen sons and it gets so much better. Excellent list of books this week. A lot of new titles to me. My Monday can be found here: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/08/its-monday-what-are-your-reading.html

  4. August 30, 2010 2:40 am

    Ah, the beauty of pre-teen boys. 🙂

  5. August 30, 2010 2:44 am

    I love the Sookie books so much, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 🙂

  6. August 30, 2010 3:29 am

    I love your blogging ideas for recording your kids work. It gets trickier to connect as they get older – mine are 20 and 22 now but I really remember these years. I have played many hours of Nintendo and Wii just to spend time with the boys 😀

    Charlaine Harris waits on me…. one of these days I will get to this series. Have a super week!

  7. August 30, 2010 3:36 am

    yep boys are totally different! As a mum of an extremely challenging almost 19 year old and a not so challenging 16 year I think boys are like bears, their bedroom is their cave (smells like one too LOL) and they need hibernation time (often a few years) to sleep, grunt, eat, grow and stink up the place. Mine eventually emerged as pleasant human beings LMAO
    Good luck and happy reading this week 🙂

  8. August 30, 2010 6:27 am

    I liked the Charlain Harris books! I am onto Dead to the World now 🙂
    I have to read the short stories now!
    I am not sure about boys, I am anxious as I see mine growing up now 🙂 Although he is just 4 months old 😉

  9. August 30, 2010 7:40 am

    I think you’re more than cool enough to hang out with, but then I’m not a pre-teen boy 😛

    Very curious about Arab in America!

  10. August 30, 2010 8:40 am

    Hi! Dropping by from It’s Time to Read! My Monday is here. Do come check it out!
    I’m glad you and your son are connecting 🙂 Katie x

  11. August 30, 2010 9:38 am

    Your son cleans – well done! A Thread of Sky sounds interesting – enjoy!

  12. August 30, 2010 10:20 am

    I love the Sookie Stackhouse books!

    Hope you and your son get lots more fun evenings together connecting. I am a long way from this stage yet (my two boys are 4 months old and 3 years old) but this isn’t a phase I am looking forward to!

  13. August 30, 2010 2:07 pm

    Wait, I got confused… do you teach other students as well?

  14. August 30, 2010 5:57 pm

    Good luck with your son! I hate the whole idea of adolescence, especially with my sweet, sensitive oldest. He’ll be 12 in a few months – I hope we all survive 🙂

  15. August 30, 2010 6:59 pm

    Boys are totally different from girls and from each other. My eldest son, now 25, had his head stuck to the tv playing video games, we even sent him to a summer church camp that used video games. Hated school, didn’t want to do anything with us, etc.

    2 DAUGHTERS in the middle.

    My youngest son, 17, enjoys the video games too but not to the exclusion of all else. He likes school, plays sports, has many friends and is very social. They really could not be more different. I think it is because of the girls, they are both very social, but also very moody as girls will be, but because he is the youngest they looked out for him, picked on him, and he has a totally different relationship with them than his older brother has.

    BTW the covers of the books make me very intrigued!!

    Dollycas
    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

  16. August 30, 2010 9:39 pm

    Teen boys…oh the joys…mine are 19 and 15. But I think it does get better for sure! 😀
    Looks like you’ve read some great books, watched some cool movies…enjoy your week.

  17. August 30, 2010 10:28 pm

    yes…teen boys (I had three of them once, now they are adults)….it really does get better. I am on book 3 of the Sookie Stackhouse books.

  18. August 31, 2010 3:05 am

    I got a lot of reading done but this week I have to hit the text books. Here’s what I’m reading this week.

  19. September 3, 2010 10:25 am

    I just remembered you when I saw this – check it ou – http://youlittleflirt.tumblr.com/post/1046951742/booklover-teachingliteracy ( The Little Prince notebooks) 🙂

Leave a Reply

