Skip to content

Monday Meme and Other Happenings

September 12, 2010

Banned Book Week is almost here. Though our government has not practiced this kind of censorship for many years, it’s not something we can take for granted. And libraries are continually dealing with challenges to remove books from the shelves. There are many online lists of frequently challenged books, including this ALA list of the most banned or challenged books of the past decade.

I recently posted five reasons why this kind of censorship is a good idea. Just tryin’ to do my part, y’know, as a concerned parent and all.

Stainless Steel Droppings is sponsoring the RIP Reading Challenge (Readers Imbibing Peril), which is timely for me, since I seem to be almost exclusively in the mood for vampire novels. Stop by and check it out.

Amanda at Zen Leaf started an interesting discussion about re-reading books. She wrote:

Sometimes, a book captures my imagination and emotions so powerfully that I don’t want to read anything else afterwards. I just want to bask in that book, to reread it a few times until I’ve worked it through my system.

I love re-reading books too, though for me months — or more often, years — usually pass before I pick up a book again. As I get older, I am becoming fascinated by how differently I see a book at various stages of my life. Just as weย  “can’t step into the same river twice,” I’m convinced we seldom read the same book twice. Each time it’s viewed through the lens of our current knowledge, development, and the issues and questions we’re struggling with at any given time.

Amanda said pretty much the same thing, though more eloquently, here:

When I go back to read Possession or The Old Man and the Sea or other books that I first read nearly a decade ago, it’s amazing to see what new things they can offer me. There have been some books, in fact, that I didn’t even like that I’m considering rereading, because I know I have changed since I first read them. Sometimes we don’t read things at the right time of our lives, or when we’re in a place where we don’t have the capacity to understand or accept what the book says. As we grow and our experience grows, those books change, and that’s what makes rereading so beautiful.

And last but not least, this weekly meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

Recent Reviews:

Southern Vampire Series Picks Up Steam

Dracula, My Love

Reading Now:

Dracula in Love by Karen Essex
Doubleday; 1 edition (August 10, 2010)

So far, I’m enjoying it and I have it on good authority that the sex scenes are smokin’ hot ! ๐Ÿ™‚ What more could I want.

As a side note, Dracula in Love is the firstย  book I’ve read on an e-reader. I have a deep affinity for print books — I like to hold the pages in my hands. But I downloaded the free Kindle thingie for my laptop, and I wanted to purchase one novel and try it out. I don’t foresee it replacing print books for me, but I do like it. For one thing, the illuminated screen and larger print is much easier on my eyes. Y’know I’m over 40 they’re making the print in books much smaller these days. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 12:01 am

    Aw, thanks for that, Stephanie. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. givingreadingachance permalink
    September 13, 2010 4:17 am

    I like what Amanda says about rereading ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. September 13, 2010 11:39 am

    I’ve often find that books that I had no interest years ago have a different appeal with more life experience or at a different stage in my life.
    Can’t wait for Dracula in Love and the smokin hot sex scenes LOL, glad you’re enjoying it so far. Have a great week and happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. September 13, 2010 12:10 pm

    I’m a definite rereader too! I can’t imagine never rereading a book. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. She permalink
    September 14, 2010 12:56 am

    Harry Potter at #1??? Really?? Ugh.

  6. September 14, 2010 1:20 am

    I really liked Amanda’s post on re-reading as well. I haven’t done a lot of re-reading recently, but after doing it for the Hunger Games trilogy I want to do it more. I think Harry Potter might be my next project – Ive never read the series straight through.

  7. September 14, 2010 1:34 am

    I haven’t re-read lately because I haven’t had the luxury of time. Too many new books! Only my very favorite childhood books get re-read.

Leave a Reply

