Skip to content

Delinquent Blogger, John Green, and Steam-Punk Bad-Ass-ness

November 15, 2010

I’ve been delinquent in blogging and in many other things. I set out to do NaNoWriMo this month, but that’s been an epic fail. 🙂 I hit a wall. For some reason, I don’t want to write fiction, I don’t want to blog, and I don’t want to review books. I haven’t even felt much like reading. It’s very odd.

Our recent car troubles have left the Chief Chauffeur of the Monkey House with some unanticipated free time on my hands. I work from home and raise three homeschooled heathens :-D, but the main bulk of my time is spent on the road. Classes, field trips, playdates, sleepovers … you get the picture. Lately all this has been off the schedule. I’ve been using the extra time to revisit an old hobby — scrapbooking.

I did pick up a new novel. I was in the mood for some YA fare, so I started Looking for Alaska by John Green. This is my first encounter with John Green, but everyone says he’s wonderful. Also my son and I are eagerly awaiting Behemoth by Scott Westerfield, sequel to Leviathan. According to DS, Leviathan is BAD ASS and almost as cool as his video games. We decided to re-read it while we’re waiting for the sequel to arrive. Then I decided it would make a good family read-aloud. I try to read a few chapters to the whole gang after dinner, if I can pry my hubby away from football. 😉

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 2:28 am

    I looked at Leviathan again last week at the library, because I want to read some steampunk so badly, but every time I flip through it, nothing grabs me. And I realize that “flipping through” is not necessarily an expert way to evaluate a book, but I still do it! However, if you think it’s good enough for a whole family read-along, maybe I have to rethink that!!!

    • November 15, 2010 11:17 pm

      Jill, if I hadn’t picked Leviathan for my son, it might not have grabbed me at first either. But I really did enjoy it.

  2. November 15, 2010 2:29 am

    I just finished Behemoth this week! It took me awhile to get into it, but I think that’s just because I was in the wrong mood. Once I did finaly get into it, I enjoyed it a lot.

  3. November 15, 2010 8:51 pm

    I absolutely can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Alaska! I love that book so much.

    • November 15, 2010 11:18 pm

      Ana, You must be one of the people who’s been convincing me I need to read John Green. 🙂 I had lost track. I am really enjoying it so far. The author has a great sense of humor, and he says so much through what he DOESN’T say.

  4. givingreadingachance permalink
    November 16, 2010 1:09 am

    Well, I don’t feel like blogging too, some days. That’s why I just don’t comment regularly lol.
    I am sorry about the writing, it is ok, I am sure you will get back to it later. I have been wanting to read John Green as well. And I HOPE I will get to Scott’s books too..

    And I love your Monkey House description :o)

    • November 16, 2010 1:11 am

      Thanks! 🙂 With a 7-month-old, I’m impressed that you have time to read and blog at all.

  5. November 16, 2010 2:37 am

    I get moody with reading and reviewing from time to time too. 🙂 Sounds like you are getting back into it with some very good books.

  6. November 20, 2010 11:06 pm

    I finished Looking for Alaska a few hours ago. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

  7. She permalink
    November 21, 2010 1:10 am

    Oh man! That series is so bad ass!

Leave a Reply

